Organizers and PC

Workshop Organizers

Petr Slovak is a Researcher in the Human Computer Interaction Group at Vienna University of Technology. With background in psychology and computer science, his research focuses  on supporting social and emotional skills learning in educational and therapeutical settings.

Greg Wadley is a Research Fellow in the Interaction Design Group at the University of Melbourne focusing on the design and evaluation of technologies for health and wellbeing.

David Coyle is a Senior Lecturer in Human Computer Interaction at the University of Bristol. His research focuses on the design and evaluation of technologies to support mental and emotional health.

Anja Thieme is a Researcher in Computing Science at Newcastle University. Her research focuses on sensitive and empathic approaches in the design and evaluation of digital technology that aims to support the mental wellbeing of people who suffer from Depression, Borderline Personality Disorder, or Dementia.

Naomi Yamashita is a Primary Researcher at NTT Communication Science Labs. Her current projects include the design of mental healthcare technologies to support the wellbeing of people around depressed individuals and the design of technologies to overcome language barriers in global communication.

Reeva Lederman is a Senior Lecturer in the Computing and Information Systems (CIS) department at the University of Melbourne. She leads the Computational Bioinformatics and Health Information Systems Research group in CIS.

Stefan Schutt is Research Program Leader at the Centre for Cultural Diversity and  Wellbeing at Victoria University. He researches young people’s use of technology, and runs a technology club for young Asperger’s sufferers.

Mia Doces is the Director for New Ventures, at the Committee for Children, a non-profit organisation developing social and emotional learning (SEL) curricula for over 35 years. She also serves on state- and national-level initiatives considering bullying prevention and SEL programs.


Program Committee

Mario Alvarez-Jimenez, University of Melbourne, AUS
Rachel Clarke, Newcastle University, UK
Jean Costa, Cornell University, US
Mary Czerwinski, Microsoft Research Seattle, US
Kathleen Gray, University of Melbourne, AUS
Geraldine Fitzpatrick, University of Vienna, A
Conor Linehan, Lincoln University, UK
Mark Matthews, Cornell University, US
John McCarthy, University College Cork, IRL
Bernd Ploderer, University of Melbourne, AUS
Carsten Rocker, RWTH Aachen, GER
Shaun Lawson, Lincoln University, UK
Brian Smith, Committee for Children, US
Wally Smith, University of Melbourne, AUS
Jayne Wallace, Dundee University, UK
Jenny Waycott, University of Melbourne, AUS
Maria Wolters, University of Edinburgh, UK